My Journey Into Tech Begins Here - First Hashnode Blog

...and so it begins

·

2 min read

This is my first Hashnode blog.

Though I've opened this blog for a while now, it's become expedient to use as I begin my journey into the technological and software world. One, as a prospective Software Engineer. Two, as a Technical Writer.

I've been a freelance Creative and Copy Content writer for about five years. However, a month ago, I decided to study towards specializing in Technical Communications. I've been interested in the tech ecosystem for a while - it's a new and future-focused way to build things that matter. With a solid background in writing, it only makes sense to know how communication is handled in the technical world - where I see myself building a career in years to come.

Concerning 'career,' it may sound cliche, but I decided to dive into software engineering to build stuff. I've always had ideas of products I could build, so I thought it's best to be a product manager. I took courses to that effect and now know about building a product that finds the market fit. But, beyond helping others build, I want to build personal products - companies, hopefully.

As I begin my dual journey into tech, officially, I look forward to actively publishing my learning and industry-related musings here. While the destination is exciting, I look forward to enjoying the process.

My Software Engineering Journey began with learning the basic Front-end Web Development tech stack - HTML, CSS, JavaScript. But, as you'll know, the learning doesn't end. Furthermore, I'm still in the very early days with JS. But, so far, I've built a couple of stuff (clones) with just HTML and CSS. I'll continue to share the learnings, practice projects, etc., on this blog.

My Technical Writing journey started last month, November 2021. I've done some research and found some things about the career. It interested me. So, I went through a couple of introductory YouTube videos. Then, I moved on to take a free, no-certificate Udemy Course, which I've completed. At the end of the course, the tutor prompted that I (and others who take the course) practice Software Documentation. "Write a software documentation on how to use the Calculator app on your phone." I'll share what I could come up with in the next blog.

Before this post becomes a novel (as there's so much to share), I'd like to thank you for reading my first post as I officially begin my journey into tech. I can't wait to build and do cool stuff. But, first, let me go back to this Javascript of a thing.